Postman alternatives: the answer depends on what must survive the move.
Eight options made the cut. Each one can replace a real part of Postman, but none should be treated as a lossless copy.
Should you switch?
Only if a candidate preserves your critical requests, environments, authentication, and scripts. If you depend on Postman mocks, monitors, or workspace automation, check the documented gaps before moving.
There is no single winner for every collection. Start with Insomnia or Bruno for documented script conversion; use Yaak when broad request and auth import matters more than scripts; treat Hoppscotch script import as experimental.
Insomnia or Bruno for broad client migration; Hoppscotch for a self-hosted web platform; Yaak or HTTPie for local-first requests; Thunder Client inside an editor; Hurl or SoapUI for focused test automation.
Honest boundary: Self-hosting means you operate the infrastructure yourself. Importing a Postman collection does not mean every script or configuration migrates automatically. Migration time depends on the project. Every product fact below reflects the official sources checked on the displayed verification date.
The shortlist
Choose by workflow, not by logo.
Every source link goes to the product's own site, documentation, license, changelog, or official GitHub repository.
01
Insomnia
A broad desktop client with strong Postman collection, environment, and script migration support.
Fit and scope
What it isAn open-source desktop application for designing, debugging, and testing APIs.Official source:Insomnia documentation·Verified:
What it replacesIt covers interactive REST, GraphQL, gRPC, WebSocket, SOAP, and event-stream requests, plus collections, tests, API design, and CLI automation.Official source:Insomnia documentation·Testing documentation·Verified:
What it does not replace directlyPostman mock servers are not imported; the official migration guide says they must be recreated in Insomnia.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Pricing and license
Free optionThe Essentials plan is listed at $0 per user per month, and a local-only Scratch Pad is described as free forever.Official source:Official pricing·Verified:
Paid pricingThe pricing page lists Pro at $12 per user per month and Enterprise at $45 per user per month; the page also labels annual billing as saving 17%.Official source:Official pricing·Verified:
Open source and licenseThe official repository is licensed under Apache License 2.0.Official source:Official LICENSE·Verified:
Self-hosting and deployment
Self-hostingThe desktop client can use local projects, while Insomnia separately documents self-hosted mock servers through Mockbin; a self-hosted replacement for the whole Insomnia cloud service is not documented in the sources checked.Official source:Insomnia versus Postman·Mock server documentation·Verified:
DeploymentThe desktop application is available for macOS, Windows, and Ubuntu; Inso CLI runs collections and tests in CI.Official source:Insomnia documentation·Import and export reference·Verified:
Machine requirementsNot specified in the official installation documentation checked.Official source:Insomnia documentation·Verified:
Self-hosted monthly costVaries by infrastructure for self-hosted mock servers; no official fixed infrastructure cost is stated.Official source:Mock server documentation·Verified:
Postman migration
Postman Collection importThe importer accepts Postman Collection v2.0 and v2.1 through file, URL, or clipboard.Official source:Import and export reference·Verified:
Environments, variables, and authCollections and environments can be imported; global environments may need to be selected as the base environment after import.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Scripts and rewritingMost Postman scripts can be converted, but global environment access, deprecated Postman interfaces, and some bulk-import script patterns have documented limitations and require review or rewriting.Official source:Script migration reference·Bulk migration guide·Verified:
Other Postman assetsMock servers require manual recreation; multi-workspace bulk import is an Enterprise workflow that must be enabled for the organization.Official source:Postman migration guide·Bulk migration guide·Verified:
Migration timeNot estimated; the official sources checked do not provide a general migration duration.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Project health
Repository activityThe official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-09-16 when checked.Official source:Official repository·Latest commit checked·Verified:
Current releaseThe latest stable GitHub release checked was core 13.2.0, published 2026-08-25.Official source:Official release·Verified:
02
Hoppscotch
A browser, desktop, and CLI API platform with a documented free Community Edition for self-hosting.
Fit and scope
What it isAn API development and testing platform available as a cloud web app, desktop app, CLI, and self-hosted edition.Official source:Quick start·Verified:
What it replacesIt covers interactive API requests, collections, environments, runners, scripts, and team workspaces.Official source:Official documentation·Verified:
What it does not replace directlyThe Postman importer does not import advanced authorization setups or collection-level settings.Official source:Official importer reference·Verified:
Pricing and license
Free optionThe Cloud Free plan is $0 and lists unlimited workspaces, collections, requests, and runners; Community Edition is also free.Official source:Official pricing·Quick start·Verified:
Paid pricingThe Cloud Organization plan is listed at $6 per user per month when billed annually.Official source:Official pricing·Verified:
Open source and licenseHoppscotch Community Edition is open source under the MIT License.Official source:Quick start·Official LICENSE·Verified:
Self-hosting and deployment
Self-hostingCommunity Edition can be hosted on infrastructure that runs Docker; the documentation also links a Helm-based Kubernetes deployment path.Official source:Community prerequisites·Install and build·Verified:
DeploymentThe documented Docker choices are separate frontend, backend, and admin containers or a single all-in-one container, backed by Postgres.Official source:Install and build·Community prerequisites·Verified:
Machine requirementsThe official minimums are 4 CPU cores and 4 GB RAM to generate the build image, and as little as 1 CPU core and 2 GB RAM to host generated output files.Official source:Community prerequisites·Verified:
Self-hosted monthly costVaries by infrastructure; the official documentation provides requirements but no fixed hosting bill.Official source:Community prerequisites·Verified:
Postman migration
Postman Collection importHoppscotch imports Postman collections and environments from JSON; cloud imports are limited to 10 MB and self-hosted imports to 50 MB.Official source:Official importer reference·Verified:
Environments, variables, and authThe importer brings request parameters, path variables, bodies, headers, basic authorization, and regular and secret environment variables.Official source:Official importer reference·Verified:
Scripts and rewritingPre-request and test-script import for Postman v2.0 and v2.1 is experimental, requires consent during import, and uses a pm-namespace compatibility layer.Official source:Official importer reference·Verified:
Other Postman assetsAdvanced authorization setups and collection-level settings are not imported and need manual review or recreation.Official source:Official importer reference·Verified:
Migration timeNot estimated; the official importer documentation checked does not state a general migration duration.Official source:Official importer reference·Verified:
Project health
Repository activityThe official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-09-14 when checked.Official source:Official repository·Latest commit checked·Verified:
Current releaseThe latest stable GitHub release checked was 2026.8.1, published 2026-09-14.Official source:Official release·Verified:
03
Bruno
Offline-first, Git-tracked collections with direct Postman collection, environment, and common-script conversion.
Fit and scope
What it isA Git-friendly, offline-first API client that stores collections as plain-text files.Official source:Getting started·Verified:
What it replacesIt covers HTTP, REST, GraphQL, and gRPC requests, testing, scripting, a collection runner, and CLI automation.Official source:Official pricing and feature matrix·Bruno CLI·Verified:
What it does not replace directlyIts documented collaboration model is local files and Git, not a managed Postman-style cloud workspace by default.Official source:Getting started·Workspace documentation·Verified:
Pricing and license
Free optionThe Open Source plan is listed at $0; the free and open-source versions allow two workspaces to be open at a time.Official source:Official pricing·Workspace documentation·Verified:
Paid pricingPro is listed at $6 per user per month billed annually, and Ultimate at $11 per user per month billed annually.Official source:Official pricing·Verified:
Open source and licenseThe official source repository is licensed under the MIT License.Official source:Official LICENSE·Verified:
Self-hosting and deployment
Self-hostingBruno runs locally and stores workspaces on the filesystem; the official sources checked do not document a server component that replaces a hosted collaboration service.Official source:Getting started·Workspace documentation·Verified:
DeploymentThe desktop app has direct downloads and package-manager installation; Bruno CLI is installed with npm, pnpm, or yarn and requires Node.js.Official source:Desktop installation·CLI installation·Verified:
Machine requirementsNo CPU or RAM minimum is specified in the official installation pages checked; the CLI documentation recommends Node 18 or higher.Official source:Desktop installation·CLI installation·Verified:
Self-hosted monthly costNot estimated; Bruno is a local application rather than a documented hosted server in the sources checked.Official source:Getting started·Verified:
Postman migration
Postman Collection importBruno imports Postman Collection v2 and v2.1 files; bulk Postman data-dump import is listed as an Ultimate feature.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Environments, variables, and authPostman environment JSON can be imported with all variables, but non-string values are converted to strings and unsupported name characters are converted.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Scripts and rewritingThe importer automatically translates common pm APIs, including tests, environment, global, collection-variable, and response APIs; unsupported script behavior still needs review and rewriting.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Other Postman assetsThe official migration page documents collections, environments, data dumps, and common scripts; it does not document importing Postman mock servers or monitors.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Migration timeNot estimated; the official migration documentation checked does not provide a general duration.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Project health
Repository activityThe official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-09-16 when checked.Official source:Official repository·Latest commit checked·Verified:
Current releaseThe latest stable GitHub release checked was v4.1.0, published 2026-08-20.Official source:Official release·Verified:
04
Yaak
A local-first desktop client with broad request and authentication import, but no Postman script runner.
Fit and scope
What it isA local-first desktop API client whose workspace data stays on the device unless the user exports or shares it.Official source:Security and privacy·Verified:
What it replacesIt handles HTTP, GraphQL, gRPC, WebSocket, and server-sent-event requests, environments, authentication, and Git-based workspace sharing.Official source:Official documentation·Git sync documentation·Verified:
What it does not replace directlyYaak has no script runner, and its Postman migration guide says monitors, mock servers, flows, documentation sites, and request history do not import.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Pricing and license
Free optionYaak is free for personal use, and the commercial-use trial lasts 30 days without a credit card or signup.Official source:Official pricing·Verified:
Paid pricingPrebuilt binaries are listed at $79 per year or $399 once for an Individual license, and $149 per user per year for Business.Official source:Official pricing·Verified:
Open source and licenseThe source is MIT licensed and can be built and run for personal or commercial use; commercial licensing applies to prebuilt binaries.Official source:Official pricing·Official LICENSE·Verified:
Self-hosting and deployment
Self-hostingYaak runs locally and can sync workspace files through the user's Git repository; the official sources checked do not document a collaborative server to self-host.Official source:Git sync documentation·Security and privacy·Verified:
DeploymentThe application is installed on the user's desktop, while local directory sync writes workspace resources as YAML files for Git workflows.Official source:Installation·Git sync documentation·Verified:
Machine requirementsNot specified in the official installation documentation checked.Official source:Installation·Verified:
Self-hosted monthly costNot estimated; the official product model is a local desktop application rather than a hosted server in the sources checked.Official source:Security and privacy·Verified:
Postman migration
Postman Collection importYaak imports Postman Collection v2.0 and v2.1 exports into a new workspace or into an existing workspace or folder.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Environments, variables, and authFolders, collection variables, exported environments, request data, and documented Basic, Bearer, API Key, AWS, JWT, Digest, NTLM, and OAuth configurations import; OAuth 2.0 tokens do not.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Scripts and rewritingPre-request and test scripts do not import because Yaak has no script runner; documented replacements use template functions, and unsupported faker-style variables need replacement.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Other Postman assetsMonitors, mock servers, flows, documentation sites, and request history do not import.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Migration timeThe official guide says a single collection takes a minute and a team move takes an afternoon; this is the vendor's stated guidance, not a Workrigly test.Official source:Postman migration guide·Verified:
Project health
Repository activityThe official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-09-16 when checked.Official source:Official repository·Latest commit checked·Verified:
Current releaseThe latest stable GitHub release checked was v2026.7.1, published 2026-09-01.Official source:Official release·Verified:
05
HTTPie
Human-friendly desktop or terminal requests when Postman scripts and platform assets are not required.
Fit and scope
What it isHTTPie offers a cross-platform Desktop/Web API client and an open-source command-line HTTP client.Official source:Desktop product page·CLI product page·Verified:
What it replacesDesktop covers REST, GraphQL, and HTTP request work; CLI covers terminal-based API testing and debugging.Official source:Desktop documentation·CLI product page·Verified:
What it does not replace directlyThe importer does not bring gRPC, WebSockets, scripts, tests, dynamic tags, body files, cookies, schemas, documentation, field descriptions, or custom settings.Official source:Desktop import reference·Verified:
Pricing and license
Free optionHTTPie Desktop is labeled public beta and can be used offline without an account; HTTPie for Terminal is open source.Official source:Desktop product page·Official product page·Verified:
Paid pricingNot confirmed; no current paid-plan price was published on the official product and documentation pages checked.Official source:Official product page·Official documentation index·Verified:
Open source and licenseHTTPie CLI is BSD-3-Clause licensed; the Desktop application's source license was not confirmed in the official sources checked.Official source:CLI official repository·CLI official LICENSE·Verified:
Self-hosting and deployment
Self-hostingDesktop persists data locally and can work offline; optional sync uses HTTPie's cloud, and no self-hosted sync server is documented in the official sources checked.Official source:Desktop data storage·Verified:
DeploymentDesktop installers are available for macOS, Windows, and Linux; CLI can be installed with OS package managers, pip, or a standalone binary.Official source:Desktop download·CLI installation·Verified:
Machine requirementsNo CPU or RAM minimum is stated; the universal pip installation documented for CLI requires Python 3.7 or newer.Official source:CLI installation·Verified:
Self-hosted monthly costNot estimated; local desktop and CLI use do not require a hosted HTTPie server, while a self-hosted sync service is not documented.Official source:Desktop data storage·Verified:
Postman migration
Postman Collection importDesktop imports Postman collections, environments, and data-dump ZIP files.Official source:Desktop import reference·Verified:
Environments, variables, and authThe importer brings environments, default and collection variables, and Basic, Bearer, API Key, and inherited authentication.Official source:Desktop import reference·Verified:
Scripts and rewritingPre-request scripts, tests, and dynamic tags are not imported and must be replaced outside the importer.Official source:Desktop import reference·Verified:
Other Postman assetsSub-folder hierarchy becomes breadcrumbs in request names; gRPC, WebSockets, body files, cookies, metadata, and custom settings do not import.Official source:Desktop import reference·Verified:
Migration timeNot estimated; the official import documentation checked provides steps and compatibility but no duration.Official source:Desktop import reference·Verified:
Project health
Repository activityThe official CLI repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2024-12-17 when checked; this does not establish Desktop activity.Official source:CLI official repository·Latest CLI commit checked·Verified:
Current releaseThe latest stable CLI GitHub release checked was 3.2.4, published 2024-11-01; the current Desktop version was not confirmed.Official source:CLI official release·Verified:
06
Thunder Client
Developers who want request collections and tests inside VS Code or JetBrains IDEs.
Fit and scope
What it isA lightweight REST API client delivered as an editor extension for VS Code, with JetBrains support listed on paid plans.Official source:Official pricing·Getting started·Verified:
What it replacesIt provides requests, collections, environments, scripting, a collection runner, and paid CLI/CI integration inside the editor workflow.Official source:Getting started·Collection runner·Verified:
What it does not replace directlyThe official Postman import documentation covers collections and environments, not Postman workspaces, mock servers, or monitors.Official source:Import and export·Verified:
Pricing and license
Free optionThe Free plan is listed at $0 per user per month and includes the VS Code extension, subject to the linked free-version limits.Official source:Official pricing·Verified:
Paid pricingStarter is listed at $3, Business at $7, and Enterprise at $16 per user per month, each billed annually.Official source:Official pricing·Verified:
Open source and licenseNot confirmed; the official public GitHub repository checked is a support repository and does not identify an open-source product license.Official source:Official support repository·Verified:
Self-hosting and deployment
Self-hostingCollection data is stored locally on the user's machine; the official sources checked do not document a server product to self-host.Official source:Official pricing FAQ·Verified:
DeploymentThe client runs in VS Code, while paid plans list JetBrains, CLI, and CI/CD capabilities.Official source:Official pricing·Getting started·Verified:
Machine requirementsNot specified in the official documentation checked beyond the supported editor environments.Official source:Getting started·Verified:
Self-hosted monthly costNot estimated; a self-hosted server product is not documented in the official sources checked.Official source:Official pricing FAQ·Verified:
Postman migration
Postman Collection importPaid versions import Postman 2.1.0 collections and environments; the documentation labels import as paid-only.Official source:Import and export·Verified:
Environments, variables, and authPostman environment files can be imported, and the environment system supports variables in query parameters, headers, bodies, and tests.Official source:Environment documentation·Verified:
Scripts and rewritingPostman scripts require conversion to Thunder Client's tc APIs; the official guide publishes mappings and also shows Postman methods without direct equivalents.Official source:Postman script conversion·Verified:
Other Postman assetsWorkspaces, mock servers, and monitors are not listed as supported import targets in the official import page.Official source:Import and export·Verified:
Migration timeNot estimated; the official import and script-conversion pages checked do not state a general duration.Official source:Import and export·Postman script conversion·Verified:
Project health
Repository activityThe official support repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-06-04 when checked; this is not a source-code activity claim.Official source:Official support repository·Latest support-repo commit checked·Verified:
Current releaseThe latest release in the official support repository checked was v2.41.3, published 2026-09-13.Official source:Official release·Verified:
07
Hurl
Plain-text HTTP integration tests in local development and CI, not a GUI workspace replacement.
Fit and scope
What it isA command-line tool that runs HTTP requests defined in a plain-text Hurl format.Official source:Official manual·Verified:
What it replacesIt can replace Postman collection-runner work for HTTP sessions and REST, SOAP, GraphQL, XML, or JSON API tests in local development and CI.Official source:Official manual·Official FAQ·Verified:
What it does not replace directlyIt is a CLI, not a Postman-style GUI workspace or managed collaboration platform.Official source:Official FAQ·Verified:
Pricing and license
Free optionHurl is available as open-source software without a paid tier documented on the official site.Official source:Official product page·Official license·Verified:
Paid pricingNo paid plan is documented on the official product, installation, or license pages checked.Official source:Official product page·Official installation·Verified:
Open source and licenseHurl is licensed under Apache License 2.0.Official source:Official license·Verified:
Self-hosting and deployment
Self-hostingHurl is run as a local or CI binary, or in its official container; it is not a hosted application server.Official source:Official product page·Official installation·Verified:
DeploymentOfficial installation paths include release binaries, OS package managers, Cargo, conda-forge, npm, and an official container image.Official source:Official installation·Verified:
Machine requirementsNo CPU or RAM sizing is specified; official precompiled Linux binaries require libc 2.35 or newer, and source builds list native library dependencies.Official source:Official installation·Verified:
Self-hosted monthly costNot estimated; local binary use has no documented hosting requirement, while container or CI cost varies by infrastructure.Official source:Official installation·Verified:
Postman migration
Postman Collection importNot documented; the official manual and installation documentation checked do not provide a Postman Collection importer.Official source:Official manual·Official installation·Verified:
Environments, variables, and authVariables are supplied through CLI options, variable files, environment variables, or per-request option sections rather than by importing Postman environments.Official source:Template and variable documentation·Verified:
Scripts and rewritingPostman scripts and assertions must be rewritten as Hurl requests, captures, queries, and assertions in the Hurl file format.Official source:Official manual·Entry format·Verified:
Other Postman assetsPostman workspaces, mock servers, monitors, and GUI collaboration are outside the documented CLI scope.Official source:Official FAQ·Verified:
Migration timeNot estimated; no official Postman migration duration or Workrigly migration test is available.Official source:Official manual·Verified:
Project health
Repository activityThe official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-09-16 when checked.Official source:Official repository·Latest commit checked·Verified:
Current releaseThe latest stable GitHub release checked was 8.0.1, published 2026-04-29.Official source:Official release·Verified:
08
SoapUI
Free REST and SOAP functional testing, especially when an older Postman v1 collection can be exported.
Fit and scope
What it isA free, open-source, cross-platform functional testing application for APIs and web services.Official source:Official repository·Verified:
What it replacesIt covers REST and SOAP functional tests, assertions, basic load tests, and local mock services.Official source:REST testing documentation·REST mocking·Verified:
What it does not replace directlyIts Postman importer supports Collection v1 only and explicitly does not support v2 collections.Official source:Postman collection documentation·Verified:
Pricing and license
Free optionSoapUI Open Source is free; additional commercial functionality is offered through ReadyAPI.Official source:Official repository·Installation guide·Verified:
Paid pricingReadyAPI pricing is contact-based on the official pricing page; no public numeric price was confirmed.Official source:ReadyAPI pricing·Verified:
Open source and licenseSoapUI is licensed under European Union Public Licence version 1.1.Official source:Official LICENSE·Verified:
Self-hosting and deployment
Self-hostingSoapUI runs locally or from a source build; REST mock services can run in the desktop app or through the mockservicerunner command-line application.Official source:Official repository·REST mocking·Verified:
DeploymentInstallers are documented for Windows, macOS, and Linux/Unix; source builds use Maven 3 and can run with Maven's exec goal.Official source:Installation guide·Official repository·Verified:
Machine requirementsNo CPU or RAM minimum is specified in the official installation documentation checked.Official source:Installation guide·Verified:
Self-hosted monthly costNot estimated; the local application and mock runner have no official fixed infrastructure cost.Official source:REST mocking·Verified:
Postman migration
Postman Collection importThe importer accepts Postman Collection v1 and creates a SoapUI project from the APIs in the collection; v2 is unsupported.Official source:Postman collection documentation·Verified:
Environments, variables, and authDocumented conversion maps Postman global variables to project properties and Basic authorization to an authorization request header.Official source:Postman collection documentation·Verified:
Scripts and rewritingA documented subset of Postman tests becomes SoapUI assertions; behavior outside those conversion rules requires manual review and rebuilding.Official source:Postman collection documentation·Verified:
Other Postman assetsThe official importer documents APIs, requests, global variables, basic auth, and a subset of tests; current Postman workspaces, monitors, and v2 collections are not supported by that importer.Official source:Postman collection documentation·Verified:
Migration timeNot estimated; the official importer documentation checked does not state a general duration.Official source:Postman collection documentation·Verified:
Project health
Repository activityThe official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-06-08 when checked.Official source:Official repository·Latest commit checked·Verified:
Current releaseThe latest stable GitHub release checked was v5.10.0, published 2026-06-02.Official source:Official release·Verified:
Total comparison
The trade-offs in one table.
Swipe or scroll horizontally on a narrow screen. Each cell keeps its official source and verification date.
There is no evidence-backed universal winner. Insomnia and Bruno deserve the first look when collections, environments, and script conversion matter; Hoppscotch is the clearest free self-hosted platform; Yaak is strong for local-first request data when scripts are not required.
Yes. Every option in this review has a documented free path, but the terms differ: some are open-source tools, Yaak's prebuilt binary is free for personal use, and Thunder Client keeps Postman import behind a paid plan.
Insomnia, Hoppscotch Community Edition, Bruno, Yaak, HTTPie CLI, Hurl, and SoapUI have official open-source licenses. Thunder Client's product source license was not confirmed from its official public material.
Hoppscotch Community Edition is the full API platform here with an explicit self-hosting guide. Insomnia documents self-hosted mocks. Bruno, Yaak, HTTPie, Hurl, Thunder Client, and SoapUI run locally or in CI rather than offering a documented full collaboration server.
Insomnia, Hoppscotch, Bruno, Yaak, HTTPie Desktop, and paid Thunder Client document Postman collection import. SoapUI supports only the old Postman v1 format. Hurl does not document a Postman importer.
Not reliably across tools. Insomnia and Bruno convert many scripts, Hoppscotch calls its script import experimental, Yaak and HTTPie do not import scripts, Thunder Client publishes tc API mappings for conversion, Hurl requires a rewrite, and SoapUI converts only a documented subset of old v1 tests.
It depends on the assets and scripts in the project. Yaak publishes vendor guidance for a collection and a team move; migration time for the other seven tools is not estimated here because neither official timing nor a Workrigly migration test was available.